Separation

12036851_1527472890876722_3048276144107887217_n

Separation ┬ęC.A. Villeta

My eyes were tired. I had not slept the whole night. As I watched the light seep through my bedroom window, I wondered why I could not sleep. Perhaps, it was because I was lying awkwardly across the bed with my legs dangling off the side. Perhaps, I was thinking of her.

I got bored at watching the light passing through my window and instead lowered my gaze to the bed placed parallel to mine. It had been three months since she last laid there. Now, it is full of stuff that I did not need but bought anyway.

See, I called her last night. She sounded happy. I pretended to be the same. I was happy that she was happy. I just did not want to sound defeated. I was not the reason for her happiness. It was better when she was my roommate. I was not content and attempted to take it further. Now, we are merely acquaintances. I should have just kept my mouth shut.

2 thoughts on “Separation

  1. Thank you for sharing your honest feelings. I have had similar feelings about a best friend of mine from high school who drifted away when she went to college. We are just starting to dig through our broken friendship. I wish you all the best in yours!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh my love. I am glad that you were able to relate to my short story even if it is not really based on exact events. That is really my aim. That is to be able to reach other people and to let them feel that they are not alone in their situation. I wish you all the best, dearest, and I would love to hear how things will turn out for the both of you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

