Blogtober Challenge 22: IG is for Insta-Gratification

It appears that today is a day for recognition. Honestly, it has been fine and dandy talking about myself but it is just feeding my narcissism. I want to talk about other people too! Hooray for this challenge for I will showcase my favorite and beloved Instagrammers. It is a mix of pages of beautiful artwork, beautiful photos, and beautiful people. As I said before, Instagram is all eye candy for me. (Plus, it gives you an idea of my taste. Yes, my narcissism will eat my stomach if I don’t feed it just a bit)

My Top Instagrammers

PS. Click their names for links to their accounts

Red Hong Yi

Red Hong Yi's IG page

Red Hong Yi’s IG page

I discovered her when she was one of those daily featured accounts on the site way before I started writing. I have been following her ever since! I love her because she paints but not with a paintbrush. (her own words) She specializes in making different artwork, small to fit in a tabletop frame or big to cover a whole wall, using different kinds of food. She goes all around the globe to attend different conventions and to make art. She is just plain awesome.

Yes, That is a food art installation of Jackie Chan's face. Awesome, right?

Yes, That is a food art installation of Jackie Chan’s face. Awesome, right?

Hi-Fructose Magazine

hifructose

Hi-Fructose Magazine

This is their official Instagram account. I love how they feature different artists and different forms of artwork. It is like a pop-up Pinterest of art inspiration for me as I will just find myself pleasantly surprised that this awesome work of art will show up on my newsfeed.

Daniel Krieger

Daniel Krieger

Daniel Krieger

He is a NY-based food photographer. I found him, like Red Hong Yi, on the IG features. I am not really a person who posts his breakfast on social media (no offense, just not my thing). Heck, I am not even a fan of posting photos of myself although I have been recently obliged by my mother to do so because she wants to see me especially when I am away from the Philippines. That led to another argument. It was her freakshow, paranoia-driven, and violent way of saying that she misses me. (aww) Anyway, back to Mr. Krieger. I just love how his subjects pop into life. It is like I am not looking at the photo but at the actual dish. Also, I am wistfully dreaming that my photography skills will be a centimeter like his and that I will be able to eat in those places that he features.

Try Local PH

Try Local PH

Try Local PH

This is a recent fave. Say what you want about my homeland but I love it. We have great potential for great things (ehem Lea Salonga belongs to us. Manny Pacquiao belongs to us. Apl De Ap belongs to us. Charice belongs to us. I could go on and on. Anyway)

I am a mild nationalist. (I won’t say that I am really passionate as I am still to have an opportunity to prove it. Until then, I am a ‘mild’.) I use local cosmetics. My favorite purse is locally-made. So, you get why I love this account. It features locally-made products and places to go for leisure. Mabuhay ang Pilipinas! (Hail to the Philippines!)

Hugh Jackman

Hugh Jackman

Hugh Jackman

I may seem to be the type to not religiously follow the lives of celebrities (I am that type) but I have exceptions to my rule. I am in awe of the famous who act as if they are not. Hugh Jackman IS Hugh Jackman. He is Wolverine. He is Van Helsing. He is 24601. He is Black Beard. He is Hugh Jackman. Imagine all those characters going to a burger joint and taking a pic of himself having a bite out of a sloppy Joe. Imagine all those characters expressing his joy in meeting new friends. Imagine all those characters showing how tired and icky he is after a long day. I love that he posts frequently and his posts are so random. He is so human.

Vladislavs III Teves Dracula

Dracula's roleplaying account

Dracula’s roleplaying account

Yeap, Dracula is on Instagram. I was a roleplayer before I was a blogger. This specific roleplay account is my absolute favorite. He NEVER gets out of character. His photos and collages are always in line with his character’s dark personality. Also, his writing is absolutely beautiful. I have to admit that I have never engaged in a roleplay with him. First, my genre does not match with his. (I went with Marvel characters) Second, I’m scared that I won’t be able to match his excellence. I just read his posts up to now despite leaving my own account a long time ago.

Tom Felton

Draco Malfoy's alter ego

Draco Malfoy’s alter ego

For someone who does not follow celebrities, I feature two in my top list of Instagrammers. Draco Malfoy. Potterhead to the end. Self-proclaimed fanboy. Free-living and mischievous youth member. Loves his GF to death. Down-to-Earth. Get my point?

Instagram

Insta-ception

Insta-ception

The Instagram account of Instagram. Instaception. As I have found two of my favorite accounts on their posts, it would be inconsiderate of me to not include IG on my list of top IGers. IG-ception.


Besides my top accounts, the following are accounts that I also like because their posts are visually stunning or because their art skills are something that I jealously wish that I have. Go on and be the judge yourself.

My Eye Candy Faves

PS Click the pics for links to their accounts
Holly Reed of The Lady Life Blog

Holly Reed of The Lady Life Blog

John Ed De Vera (battery_full)

John Ed De Vera (battery_full)

Stef Etow of Ink And Pulp

Stef Etow of Ink And Pulp

Sabeena Karnik (sabeenu)

Sabeena Karnik (sabeenu)

Rian Gonzales (rianbowart)

Rian Gonzales (rianbowart)

Rev Cruz

Rev Cruz


So there, I wish someday that my own IG account will be as good as my favorites. Who are your favorite IGers? Let’s swap favorites!

8 thoughts on “Blogtober Challenge 22: IG is for Insta-Gratification

Leave a Reply

