Glass Half: The Real Deal on Perspectives

I was just browsing through the Internet, answering online quizzes from left to right. Yes, yes you can say that I am a fan of those quiz websites.

Three different quizzes on three different topics asked this.m

Is your glass half-empty or half-full?
I had a hard time answering this.

It is a common fact that if one will answer “half-empty” then he is a pessimist. If he answers “half-full” then he is an optimist.

I was born a pessimist. It is in my personality to over-worry, to see the bad sides of things, to expect disappointment. It is sort of my defense mechanism so that in case something does go wrong, then I will not be surprised about it.
But, over the years, I have become a learned optimist. I forced myself to think differently, to hope for the best. I taught myself how to see the light in the darkest of situation. I must say, I have succeeded in that field.

Thus, I am a neutral. I can harness the benefits of both attitudes.

With that ability, I do not answer the above-stated question because another question always pops into my mind when I am asked this.

Whether this glass is half-empty or half-full, what do you plan to do about it?

Would you grab that glass and douse down its contents because, hey, it’s already there? You may do that because since it is half-full then you might as well enjoy yourself in that moment of refreshment. Although, you risk the chance of getting more and being unsatisfied with the quantity of the contents. Will you go on then and wait for another glass to come along?

OR

Would you wait for that glass to fill up to the brim before you consume its contents? Since, it is half-empty then why not wait for the glass to fill up? You may work for it or wait for it. But, once it gets filled, you savor every gulp of that worthy drink. But, what if it spills or what if it does not get filled?

There are two sides of positivity and negativity

Being an optimist means that you are happy, hoping, and you see the light in things. It really is good as things become brighter, yes? There is no doubt about that. What we must recognize that there is a negative side to optimism. It clouds our vision, making us oblivious or blind to what we would call as the “reality check”. There is a danger of being carefree and complacent as there is that idea that everything will work out in the end. As much as we want to see life as a bed of roses, we cannot deny that there will be thorns and a lot of them in there.

Pessimism, on the other hand, means that you are careful, distrusting, and you watch out for the worst. Pessimists are even kidded to age faster due to all that worrying. Like her total opposite, there is a lighter side to negativity. It helps us foresee possible mistakes and make quick amends when they do come along. It makes success more fulfilling as it means that every hurdle was jumped over and the finish line was reached. Though the world may be pitch-black and eerie, at least it makes it much easier to catch even the smallest speck of light.

See? It appears that optimism and pessimism is one and the same as there is no absolute to each perception. The same goes for the glass. May it be half-empty or half-full, it is still the same glass.

The real question is this.

What do you plan to do with that glass?

3 thoughts on “Glass Half: The Real Deal on Perspectives

  1. My glass is neither half-full, nor half-empty. It`s half-assed most of the time 😀
    I don`t know who said that, but it`s wise: Always expect the worse and prepare for the worst, or something like that. That way, you won“t be surprised. But that`s a very grimm picture of reality, really.
    Lady Viletta, you stated you are a neutral. There is only one thing to ask here: Lawful neutral, Chaos neutral, or true neutral? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • A fine question, Mr. Aldaine. I have to admit that you had me stumped. I had to do some research to confirm my own hypothesis but it turned out that I am correct in my own assumption. I am a true. How about you? What is your alignment?

      Like

Leave a Reply

